# MINUTES of the ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING BRISBANE LOCAL MEDICAL ASSOCIATION

## Held on Thursday 31st March 2022 at the Emporium Hotel, Southbank

Opened: 6.30pm

Present were Dr Hasthika Ellepola (Vice-President), Dr Dilip Dhupelia (Chairman of the meeting in President Dr Bob Brown's absence), five other committee members and approximately 45 general members

Apologies: Dr Bob Brown, Dr James Collins, Dr Zelle Hodge, Dr Jan Phillips, Dr Cheryl McNally and Dr Geoffrey Hawson.

*Minutes of last AGM:* There were no corrections and the minutes were adopted by the meeting as read. (Moved Ian Hadwen, seconded Anne Hadwen, carried.)

Business arising: There was no business arising from the minutes.

### President's Report:

Dr Robert Brown addressed the meeting via video. He welcomed all members, thanked management committee members, particularly Dr Ian Hadwen (Secretary over his time as President and who like himself was not seeking re-election to the Management Committee) and Dr Dilip Dhupelia for his hard work in the resurgence of a greater Brisbane local medical association. Dr Brown also thanked sponsors for their support throughout the year, stressing how important sponsorship was in the running of LMAs.

Dr Brown also thanked Dr Chris Perry, President of AMAQ and AMAQ chief executive Dr Brett Dale for their assistance with the running of the BLMA in the past year. AMAQ employees Renee O'Brien and Lisa O'Donnell were also thanked for their assistance with the publication of *Synapse* and with publicity for the BLMA.

Dr Brown reported on the continuing close relationship with the Redcliffe & Districts LMA. He expressed his opinion of the importance of local medical associations' involvement in local medico-political matters.

A vote of thanks to Dr Bob Brown for his long years of service to the NLMA/BLMA as President was moved by Dr Andrew Cronin, seconded by Dr Graham McNally and carried unanimously.

### Treasurer's Report:

Treasurer Dr Dilip Dhupelia tabled the audited financial report, which revealed the continuing strong financial position of the association, with retained profits at end of financial year \$40,113. This was despite significant expenditure through the year in website development, insurance, secretarial services, newsletter publications, accounting package purchase and audit.

Moved Dr Dhupelia, seconded Dr Kimberley Bondeson that the financial report be accepted. Carried unanimously.

Appointment of Auditor for BLMA.

Dr Graham McNally moved (seconded Dr Hasthika Ellepola) that auditor Karen King be re-appointed.

In his report to the meeting, Dr Dhupelia encouraged each member present to sign up at least one new member, seeking to grow the membership to 200 doctors this year.

BLMA Bank account management.

Dr Dhupelia moved, seconded by Dr Felicity Jensen that the signatories to the BLMA bank account be Dr Hasthika Ellepola, Dr Dilip Dhupelia and Dr Andrew Cronin, with any two to sign, and that Dr Bob Brown and Dr Ian Hadwen be removed as signatories. The motion was carried.

#### Elections:

The outgoing Treasurer Dr Dhupelia assumed the chair for the elections.

The following were elected unopposed to their respective positions:

President Dr Hasthika Ellepola
Secretary Dr Felicity Jensen
Treasurer Dr Andrew Cronin.
Vice-President Dr Gail Tsang
Committee member Dr Dilip Dhupelia
Committee member Dr James Collins
Committee member Dr Jennifer Schafer

From the floor, two other committee members were nominated and elected; namely Dr Janet Draper and Dr Andrew Frazer.

#### General Business:

There were no items of general business requiring a motion.

AGM component of the meeting closed at 7.05pm.

The AGM was followed by clinical lectures by Dr Phillip Hall (on non-invasive and minimally invasive techniques in the management of uterine prolapse and pelvic pain) and De Anojan Navaratnam (the latest on robotic and laser techniques in the treatment of benign prostatic hypertrophy). The meeting was sponsored by 3D Matrix Medical Technology Pty Ltd and the meeting was addressed by Armel Bustillo, Regional Manager.

The meeting was also addressed by Dr Kimberley Bondeson who informed the meeting about membership of the Australian Senior Active Doctors Association (ASADA) and of the first ASADA Conference to be held at Redcliffe on 13-14 August 2022.

Dr Robert Brown [President - retiring]

Dr Ian Hadwen [Secretary - retiring]